Philadelphia High School Cross Country
Catholic League Champions, Boys

(compiled by Ted Silary)

Return to Home Page

(We are posting this info little by little. Any help with missing info would be appreciated. Thanks!)

*record performance

Year Champion Pts Runners Place Winner School Time
3.1 miles (5000 meters)
2018 La Salle


Vincent Twomey 1st Vincent Twomey La S 16:20.2
      Ethan Maher 2nd    
      Paul Ghantous 3rd  
      Matthew Zilligen 4th      
      Bradden Koors 5th      
2017 La Salle


Evan Addison 1st Evan Addison La S 16:19.70
      Vincent Twomey 2nd    
      Ethan Maher 3rd  
      Sean Egan 4th      
      Bradden Koors 5th      
2016 La Salle


Evan Addison 2nd Ryan James O'Hara 16:09.70
      Stephen Paul 4th    
      Brendan Price 7th  
      Quinn O'Neill 8th      
      Vincent Twomey 9th      
2015 La Salle


Eddie Goebel 3rd Rob Morro O'Hara 16:22
      Evan Addison 4th    
      Stephen Paul 5th  
      Frank Livolsi 6th      
      Patrick Grant 9th      
2014 O'Hara


Kevin James 1st Kevin James O'Hara 16:22.58
      Ryan James 2nd    
      Rob Morro 3rd  
      Billy Donovan 7th      
      Drew Pastore 11th      
2013 O'Hara


Kevin James 1st Kevin James O'Hara #15:45.26
      Nick Smart 2nd #-course extended by 110 meters  
      Jim Belfatto 3rd (would have topped Hallinan's record)
      Drew Pastore 4th      
      Rob Morro 6th      
2012 O'Hara


Dan Savage 1st Dan Savage O'Hara 15:56
      Ernie Pitone 2nd      
      Kevin James 3rd      
      Matt Hayes 5th      
      Chris Pastore 6th      
2011 O'Hara


Dan Savage 2nd Tom Coyle La Salle 15:56.2
      Mike Bilotta 3rd      
      Chris Pastore 5th      
      Ernie Pitone 8th      
      Kevin James 10th      
2010 O'Hara


Chris Garrity 1st Chris Garrity O'Hara 16:25.46
      Christian Ostroski 4th      
      Dan Savage 6th      
      Chris Pastore 7th      
      Mike Bilotta 9th      
2009 La Salle


James Stevenson 4th Tom Kehl Judge 17:08
      Shawn Quinn 5th      
      Tom Trainer 6th      
      Nick Molloy 7th      
      Seamus Morgan 9th      
2008 La Salle


Nick Molloy 4th John Pickhaver Prep 16:26.0
      Pat Donnelly 5th      
      Tom O'Kane 7th      
      Sean McCullough 8th      
      Tom Trainer 10th      
2007 La Salle


Dan Lowry 1st Dan Lowry La S 16:31.19
      Pat Donnelly 6th      
      Tom O'Kane 7th      
      Tom Buoncristiano 12th      
      Sean McCullough 14th      
2006 La Salle


Phil Wood 1st Phil Wood La S 16:04
      George Pinchock 6th      
      Steve Dorsey 7th      
      Colin Barrett 8th      
      Dan Lowry 10th      
2005 La Salle


Bob McCullough 2nd Greg Thomas O'H 16:01
      Pat Jeffers 5th      
      Dan Lowry 6th      
      Sean Casey 8th      
      Steve Dorsey 14th      
2004 La Salle


Sean McGinley 1st Sean McGinley La S 16:08
      Pat Jeffers 4th      
      Tim Heck 6th      
      Tim Shea 9th      
      Dan O'Toole 11th      
2003 La Salle


Joe Fedorowicz 6th Steve Hallinan O'H 15:44
      Sean McGinley 8th (ran course record    
      Kyle Rodden 9th 15:42 in invitational)    
      Steve Horvath 11th      
      Chris Ross 14th      
2002 O'Hara


Steve Hallinan 1st Steve Hallinan O'H 16:19
      Vince Gravelle 3rd      
      Mike Callanan 5th      
      Greg Thomas 8th      
      Jack Braconnier 12th      
2001 O'Hara


Steve Hallinan 1st Steve Hallinan O'H 16:13
      Joe Francisco 4th      
      Vince Gravelle 5th      
      T.J. Coll 10th      
      Mike Callanan 16th      
2000 O'Hara


Rich Anderson 2nd Matt Mereba Dough 16:11
      Sean Duffy 6th      
      Kevin Cunningham 9th      
1999 Judge


Kevin Carroll 1st Kevin Carroll Judge 16:24
      Mike Brennan 5th      
      Tom Taggart 6th      
      Ryan Grant        
      Pat Bickel        
1998 Judge


Kevin Carroll 2nd Mike Donohue La S 16:30
      Chris Baker 3rd      
      Mike Brennan 5th      
      Pat Bickel 8th      
      Tom Taggart 13th      
1997 La Salle


Colin McManus 3rd Ryan Cobb O'H 16:41.1
      Al Clay 5th      
      Greg Bielecki 6th      
      Jeremy Palo 7th      
      T.J. Bartkowski 9th      
1996 St. Joe's Prep


Steve Walsh 1st Steve Walsh Prep 16:25.3
      Joe McCool 3rd      
      Sean Gavin 13th      
      Mike DiJulia 17th      
      Nick Groch 24th      
1995 Wood


Geoff Angelone 4th Dave McClafferty Con.-Egan 16:28.4
      David Polis 8th      
      Chris Haas 14th      
      Nick Pagano 16th      
      Brian McVan 17th      
1994 Bonner 29 Kevin McGinnis 2nd Jack Horgan La S 16:24
      Art DiCola 3rd      
      Kevin Hager 4th      
      Rob Lythgoe 6th      
      Colin Benner 14th      
1993 Ryan


Mark Herley 3rd Kevin McGinnis Bonn 16:23.2
      Tony Woodruff 7th      
      Chris O'Rourke 9th      
      Mike Stewart 10th      
      Joe Carlin 17th      
1992 St. James


Kevin McGinnis 5th Brendan Benner Bonn *16:16.5
      Kevin Hager 7th   (*ran record 16:04    
      Bill Lynch 8th   at Belm. Plateau;      
      Fred Ogden 14th   Arch. Ryan Inv.)    
      Bill Clark 15th      
1991 Wood


Brian McCafferty 3rd Brendan Benner Bonn 16:30
      Jason Switzer 4th      
      Keith Clements 6th      
      Dennis Monahan 7th      
      Mike Coyne 12th      
1990 Wood


Brian McCafferty 3rd Mike McClafferty Egan #16:17
      Jason Switzer 7th   (#ran record 16:07    
      Doug Menzak 10th   in division meet)    
      Keith Clements 12th      
      Dennis Monahan 16th      
1989 St. James


Mark Hager 6th Al Connelly Egan 16:40
      Rich Struzynski 8th      
      Zep Greto 12th      
      Jim Green 21st      
      Bill Lynch 24th      
  2.9 miles            
1988 Wood


Brett Amberson 4th Matt McCloskey Ryan 15:12
      Chris Wiegand 7th      
      David Crowley 10th      
      Michael Vivian 15th      
      Rob Templeton 20th      
1987 Wood


Mike Ewing 2nd Shawn Schneider Ryan 14:44
      Brett Amberson 8th      
      Brian Maroney 14th      
      Curt Burkholder 21st      
1986 Wood


Mike Ewing 1st Mike Ewing Wood 15:41
      Brian Maroney 6th      
      Curt Burkholder 10th      
      Dave Penko 14th      
      Brett Amberson 18th      
1985 Bonner 45 Bill Donovan 1st Bill Donovan Bonn 14:43
      Chris Saddler 5th      
      Jason Lagana 10th      
      Jim Racine ??      
      Dave Walsh ??      
1984 Wood 49 Mike Lieb 3rd Bill Donovan Bonn 14:59
      Mike Ewing 6th      
      Mike Haney 8th      
      Bob Winkler 9th      
      Greg Penko 23rd      
1983 Wood 50 Bob Winkler 5th Jack Schneider Ryan 15:05
      John Meighan 6th      
      Mike Lieb 9th      
      Bob Devlin 13th      
      Tom Brewer 17th      
1982 La Salle


Steve Gallagher 1st Steve Gallagher La S 15:01
      Connor Smith 2nd      
      Tom Shallow 5th      
      Tom Burns 20th      
      Dave Casale 22nd      

Earlier champions . . .

1944    North Catholic
1945    West Catholic
1946    North Catholic
1947    North Catholic
1948    West Catholic
1949    West Catholic
1950    West Catholic
1951    West Catholic
1952    West Catholic
1953    West Catholic
1954    West Catholic
1955    West Catholic
1956    West Catholic
1957    West Catholic
1958    Cardinal Dougherty
1959    Cardinal Dougherty
1960    West Catholic
1961    Cardinal Dougherty
1962    Cardinal Dougherty
1963    Cardinal Dougherty
1964    Cardinal Dougherty
1965    Cardinal Dougherty
1966    Bishop McDevitt
1967    Cardinal Dougherty
1968    Monsignor Bonner
1969    Archbishop Wood
1970    Bishop McDevitt
1971    La Salle
1972    La Salle
1973    Archbishop Ryan
1974    Monsignor Bonner
1975    Archbishop Ryan
1976    Archbishop Ryan
1977    Archbishop Ryan
1978    Archbishop Ryan
1979    Archbishop Wood
1980    Cardinal O'Hara
1981    Cardinal O'Hara

(Thanks to Chris Carabello, La Salle's
information director, for providing this list.)